2023 State Scholars

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission congratulates 35 Lakes Community High School students for their academic excellence.

We are pleased to announce that 35 students from Lakes Community High School graduating class of 2023 have been designated as Illinois State Scholars.
The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state’s college access and financial aid agency, presents this prestigious recognition of academic achievement to exceptional Illinois high school students annually. This year, more than 16,700 honorees join the other outstanding students who have been honored since the designation was first introduced in 1958.  

Congratulations to all of the outstanding students selected as 2023-24* Illinois State Scholars.  Students and families faced numerous challenges over the last two years with remote learning.  As we continue to recover from the pandemic, these academic achievements are a credit to the hard work and dedication of the student scholars and their families, and to the support provided by teachers, mentors, counselors, and communities in helping students meet their goals and find success as they advance on their education and career paths.

The Illinois State Scholar designation is a non-monetary award. Each State Scholar will receive a congratulatory letter and a Certificate of Achievement from ISAC. Additionally, awardees can download an official Illinois State Scholar Program badge to display on their online profiles, social media platforms, and share with their high school counselors, colleges, employers, family members and others. 

Nathan Bucher

Brighton Callaway

Kevin Cellucci

Elise Coleman

Andrew Cook

Arya Deora

Tyson Dewey

Carter Empen

Jordan Faily

Sydney Fitzjarrell

Alyssa Garrett

James Gaskill

Sarah Heard

Luis Hernandez

Julianna Jakubiak

Dimitri Kostomiris

Bethany Kunkle

Joseph Levinskas

Micah Lind

Genevieve Mack

Nicole Mckavis

Gia Memenga

Kaylin Miears

Vivian Mruk

Ian Murphy

Kaylee Orsini

Joel Pellitteri

Mia Pfeiffer

Colin Shea

Samantha Skula

Shelby Stall

Conner Torkilsen

Rachel Ward

Kaitlyn West

Claire Zutkis