Board of Education Governance Recognition

Community High School District 117 Board of Education Earns Governance Recognition Honor

The Community High School District 117 Board of Education has been recognized for their exceptional governance practices by the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB). District 117 was one of 35 Illinois school districts to earn the School Board Governance Recognition for their effective governance behaviors and their commitment toward obtaining the knowledge and skills necessary to effectively govern the District. IASB’s School Board Governance Recognition program acknowledges local boards of education that practice good governance behaviors as outlined by IASB's Foundational Principles of Effective Governance. The focus of Governance Recognition is on full board development and participation, rather than on individual members. Boards of education that meet the necessary requirements are recognized for the two-year honorary distinction.  

The full Board of Education is constantly working to improve the District for our students and for the entire community.  This is the second time the Board has received this award for their continual improvement efforts in their leadership skills and governance knowledge.  While members of Boards of Education are elected, they are not paid for their considerable work, studying issues and making decisions that are sometimes not popular, all in the interest of students. 

The Illinois Association of School Boards is a voluntary organization of local boards of education dedicated to strengthening the public schools through local citizen control. Although not a part of state government, IASB is organized by member school boards as a private not-for-profit corporation under authority granted by Article 23 of The Illinois School Code. More information about the IASB School Board Governance Recognition program can be found on the Illinois Association of School Boards website.

The following Board Members being recognized this year: Wayne Sobczak, Bruce Pagni, and Ronald Vickers.

Thank you to our Board of Education for their dedicated service to Community High School District 117!