Those Who Excel State of Illinois Logo

Staff & Community Members Receive ISBE "Those Who Excel" Awards!

Last week, The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) honored over 500 Illinoisans for their extraordinary contributions to education across the state through its annual Those Who Excel & Teacher of the Year Awards

Those Who Excel celebrates incredible classroom teachers, administrators, teams, volunteers, and school support personnel who have made lasting impacts on the students, families, and fellow educators in their school communities. We are elated and filled with pride to celebrate District 117’s Those Who Excel winners: Chris Synder (Teacher), Maddie Lyon (Early Career Educator), Julie Gerrits (Community Volunteer), and Sequoit Pride (Team). 

"There’s no doubt that our devoted educators in Illinois go above and beyond for our students every single day," said Governor JB Pritzker. "I’m especially excited to honor the 2024 Those Who Excel Awardees and Teacher of the Year Cohort Members, who have demonstrated unwavering commitment to their communities and the young people they serve. To these outstanding professionals across Illinois - thank you for helping shape the leaders of tomorrow."

District 117 Superintendent Dr. Jeff Feucht added “We are so grateful to have so many staff and community members who are willing to go above and beyond for the benefit of our students. This year’s recipients from District 117 truly embody this student-centered ethos that makes our schools special. We extend our heartfelt congratulations to our Those Who Excel winners!” 

ISBE will celebrate the awardees at a banquet on May 18, 2024.